14th & 15th October 2017 - Nautical photograph competition and Macmillian Coffee Morning

This popular annual competition will take place over the weekend of of 14th/15th October.

Please make sure that your entries reach the Clubhouse no later than 1pm on Saturday 14th.

All the photographs will be exhibited in the Games Room over the weekend, and the judgment and prizegiving will take place at 14:00 on Sunday 15th. There will, as usual, be an opportunity for all members to cast their vote for the picture they think would look well on the cover of next year's Club Almanac. 

macmillan

From 10:00 on Sunday the 15th, the clubhouse will be open to view the entries, plus you can support the Macmillan cancer charity by supporting our Macmillian Coffee Morning - We look forward to seeing as many members as possible and would welcome any donations of cakes etc.!

 


 Old hands will be aware of the few rules that govern this competition, but we hope that many of our new members will be submitting their entries, and reminders never come amiss.

We are looking for photographs of nautical subjects, very broadly interpreted -­‐ but are happy to accept pictures which feature water in any shape or form. What will not be  accepted are landscapes, however beautiful, portraits, or what might be described as family  snapshots (including family pets). Of course, this does not preclude human figures -­‐ or even  animals -­‐ appearing as part of the composition. So, nautical or watery subjects only, please; 

size not exceeding 20cm x 16cm (8" x 6"), though smaller sizes are even more welcome, for reasons of space. Entries should be unsigned and unmounted, with a maximum of six submissions, and a list of titles should be included.

When the exhibition is dismantled, the photos will be replaced in their respective envelopes and left in the Games Room; please note that responsibility for collection rests with the competitor. If you wish them to be returned by post, kindly remember to enclose a stamped, self-­‐addressed envelope.

We are delighted that Anthony Cullen has agreed to judge the competition for another year, with the assistance of Matt Brooke. Anthony's comments on the entries and his relevant advice are always eagerly awaited lessons in themselves. The judging and prizegiving will take place on Sunday 15th October at around 2pm.

 

M.C.

Forthcoming Social events

Fri Oct 20 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sat Oct 21 @09:00 - 07:00PM
We didn't mean to go to sea
Fri Oct 27 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Nov 03 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sat Nov 04 @14:00 - 05:00PM
1400 - 1700 Childrens' Halloween party
Fri Nov 10 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sat Nov 11 @20:00 - 11:00PM
Great Pin Mill Bake Off
Fri Nov 17 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sat Nov 18 @20:00 - 10:00PM
AGM
Fri Nov 24 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sat Nov 25 @20:00 - 11:00PM
Shanties and Ditties
Fri Dec 01 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Dec 08 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sat Dec 09 @14:00 - 05:00PM
Childrens' Xmas party
Fri Dec 15 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sun Dec 17 @12:30 - 04:00PM
Christmas lunch
Fri Dec 22 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sun Dec 24 @18:00 - 10:00PM
Carols and mince pies
Mon Dec 25 @11:30 - 03:00PM
Morris dancers
Fri Dec 29 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Sun Dec 31 @20:00 - 12:30AM
New years eve
Mon Jan 01 @20:00 - 12:30AM
New years eve
Fri Jan 05 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Jan 12 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Jan 19 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Jan 26 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Feb 02 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Feb 09 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Feb 16 @21:00 -
Prize draw
Fri Feb 23 @21:00 -
Prize draw